Council Committees

The University Council has six committees plus the Academic Board.

Audit and Risk Committee

The Audit and Risk Committee assists Council in relation to oversight of strategic and operational risk management, health and safety management, internal and external audit, statutory financial reporting, and legislative compliance.

Finance Committee

The Finance Committee assists Council in relation to the University's budget, long term capital plan, funding strategy, treasury management, and financial performance.

People and Culture Committee

The People and Culture Committee assists Council to meet its responsibility to monitor and evaluate the Vice-Chancellor’s performance and develop a culture at the University which supports the delivery of its strategic priorities as they relate to people and culture.

Victoria Honours Committee

The Victoria Honours Committee makes recommendations to Council regarding the criteria, conferment or award for/of an honorary degree, Hunter Fellowship or any other honorary award which Council may wish to bestow.

Te Aka Matua—Māori Advisory Committee

The purpose of Te Aka Matua is to assist Council to discharge its governance responsibilities in relation to Māori and Te Tiriti o Waitangi.

Nominations Panel

The Nominations Panel ensures Council has the skills, knowledge, diversity and experience for Victoria University of Wellington to meet the challenges ahead and to achieve its strategic goals. It also oversees the appointment of three Council members.

Academic Board

The Education and Training Act 2020 requires Council to establish an academic board to advise Council on matters relating to courses of study or training, awards, and other academic matters.

The Academic Board is not a committee of Council, although for convenience it is deemed to be one for the purposes of receiving and exercising delegated authority from Council.