Writers on Mondays

From mid-July to October each year, the International Institute of Modern Letters (IIML), home of Te Herenga Waka Victoria University of Wellington's renowned creative writing programme, runs a series of events highlighting writers active in and around Wellington, as well as guests from overseas.

2021 special events

COVID and travel restrictions mean the full programme remains on hiatus this year. Once again we will hold the Short Sharp Script and Next Page sessions featuring new work-in-progress by our current MA students. These sessions will not necessarily be on Mondays!

Short Sharp Script sessions at Circa Theatre

Monday 11 and 18 October 12.15pm - 1.15pm.
These sessions are open to the public at Level 2 but numbers are limited. If you would like to attend, please rsvp as soon as possible to katie.hardwick-smith@vuw.ac.nz .
Over two lunchtime sessions, actors will perform dynamic new work by 2021 MA scriptwriting students, introduced by Michael Hirschfeld Director of Scriptwriting Ken Duncum.

Monday 11:
Readings of work by Cole Sharland, Hera Cook, Lynette Mentink, Nakisa Wilson and Jemma Gill

Monday 18:
Readings of work by Evangelina Telfar, Isaac Martyn, Jack McGee, Annabel Maasdam and Georgie Wright

Our thanks to Circa Theatre for its ongoing support and understanding. Circa is open and running from 5 October, under strict Level 2 guidelines.

The Next Page readings

Wednesday 29 September and Thursday 30 September on Kelburn campus: attendance by invitation only.

Unfortunately this event will not be open to the public because of level to Level 2 restrictions.

Wednesday 29:
Dani Yourukova, Clara van Wel, Nkhaya Paulsen-More, Bronte Heron, Gerard O’Brien, Aline Tran, Lachlan Taylor, Janet Holst, Tamara Tulitua, Zoe Higgins, Michaela Tempany, Charlotte Doyle, Flora Feltham, Joe Parker, Callum Knight.

Thursday 30:
Phoebe Wright,  Melody Chang, Sylvan Spring, Jayne Costelloe, Jono McLeod, Maggie Sturgess, Sharron Came, Eva Wyles, Scarlett McAvinue-Northcott, Brendon Stanton, Jiaqiao Liu, Anita Nalder, Leah Dodd, Caroline Ziemke-Dickens.

You can read about or download previous years' Writers on Mondays programmes below.

Writers on Mondays is presented with:

Previous writers on Mondays programmes