Prize in Modern Letters

The Prize in Modern Letters is in abeyance. The information below is provided for historical interest.


The biennial Prize in Modern Letters, valued at NZ$65,000, was designed to acknowledge and advance the work of emerging writers in New Zealand, both by highlighting the achievement and potential of a major new writer and by enhancing awareness of New Zealand literature internationally - particularly in the USA.

The Prize in Modern Letters was established by Glenn Schaeffer, founding patron of the International Institute of Modern Letters.

The inaugural Prize in Modern Letters was won by novelist Catherine Chidgey in 2002. It was subsequently awarded to poet Glenn Colquhoun in 2004, novelist Carl Shuker in 2006 and poet David Beach in 2008.

Previous winners

Read about the previous winners:


Catherine Chidgey - New Zealand Book Council website


Glenn Colquhoun - New Zealand Book Council website


Carl Shuker - mySpace Profile


David Beach - Profile page on Te Herenga Waka University Press