Academic staff

Dr Justin Hodgkiss

I am a senior lecturer in Physical Chemistry at Victoria University of Wellington, a deputy director of the MacDiarmid Institute for Advanced Materials and Nanotechnology, an Associate Investigator in the Dodds-Wall Centre for Photonic and Quantum Technologies, and a Rutherford Discovery Fellow.

I completed my BSc (Hons) in chemistry at the University of Otago in 2000, and my PhD as a Fulbright Scholar at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 2006. Following my PhD, I carried out post-doctoral research in the Cavendish Laboratory at the University of Cambridge. I joined Victoria University of Wellington in 2009.

Co-Director, MacDiarmid Institute

MacDiarmid Institute


Postdoctoral fellow

  • Dr Kai Chen
  • Dr Paul Hume
  • Dr  Michael Price
  • Dr Karen Thorn

Research assistants

  • Dr Isabella Wagner
  • Dr Geoffrey Weal

PhD students

  • Aditi Kumar
  • Sai Murali
  • Sam Otter


  • Dr Omar Alsager
  • Dr Alex Barker
  • Dr Justinas Butkus
  • Dr Galen Eakins
  • Thomas Haberzettl (Ohm University)
  • Martin Heeley
  • Dr Aleksandra Ilina
  • Lia van den Kerkhof
  • Marcin Kielar
  • Pauline Lequoy (University of Montreal)
  • Cole Lomas
  • Dr Shyamal Prasad
  • Michael Price
  • Dr Silvina Pugliese
  • Dr Anindita Sen
  • Dr Clément Sester
  • Hannah Stern
  • Dr Ronnie Tamming
  • Dr Liu (Yasmin) Ye