Advanced Functional Luminescence Material

Advanced functional luminescence

Dr Nathaniel Davis

Senior Lecturer in Physical Chemistry
School of Chemical and Physical Sciences

Gaps exist in the research field where physics blends into chemistry. In the Advanced Functional Luminescence group, we take a chemical stance to solve challenges related to the advancement of solar energy, energy conversion and efficient lighting. Our focus is on the creation of materials allowing light and electronic energy to be interchanged.

Photo-active antenna complexes have existed for the last decade or so, but they are not presently widely used in applications. Our goal is to link organic and inorganic chromophores together to create energy-harvesting systems with spectral management techniques that are more efficient and applicable compared to the previous generation chromophores. Once fabricated these structures have the potential to advance a wide range of optoelectronic applications. These large antenna complexes will mimic the efficient light harvesting complexes found in nature, concentrating, splitting or combining excited states, and have potential applications in photovoltaics (PVs), luminescent solar concentrators (LSCs), down converters, light emitting diodes (LEDs), water splitting and optically and electronically pumped lasers. They will also act as compelling models to observe excited state dynamics using laser spectroscopy, which has the potential to provide fundamental knowledge that feeds back into future applications.


  • Synthesis: Fume Hood, Schlenk Line, Glove Box.
  • Fabrication: Spin Coater, Blade Coater, Polymerisation.
  • Physical characterisation: H1 and C13 NMR, IR, Mass Spec, TEM, XRD, SEM, EDX,
  • Optical characterisation: UV Vis, Fluorimeter, Fluorescent Lifetimes, Ultra-fast Photoluminescence, Transient Absorption.

Current Researchers


  • Dr Mike Price


  • Zeineb Ayed
  • Deanna Ayupova
  • Matt Brett
  • Lara Browne
  • Calum Gordon
  • Jake Hardy
  • Hellen Nalumaga
  • Chase Zeke-Smith


  • Sanutep Chan


  • Rose Hogg

Research Assistant

  • Sasha Illina


  • The Australasian Community for Advanced Organic Semiconductors.
  • The Dodd Walls Centre for Photonic and Quantum Technologies.
  • The MacDiarmid Institute for Advanced Materials and Nanotechnology.
  • The ARC Centre of Excellence in Exciton Science (University of Melbourne, Monash University, RMIT, University of NSW and the University of Sydney).
  • The Optoelectronics Group, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom.
  • The Institute for Integrated Cell-Material Sciences (iCeMS) – Kyoto University, Japan.


View publications.

Research funding

The group gratefully acknowledges funding from the following sources:
  • Rutherford Discovery Fellowship – Royal Society
  • Marsden Fund - Royal Society
  • MBIE Endeavour Fund
  • SfTI National Science Challenge
  • Macdiarmid Institute
  • The Dodd Walls Centre
  • Victoria University Trust

Past  Members

  • Dr Shalin Divya
  • Dr Chunyan Zeng
  • Damon de Clercq
  • Aurélien Rossi (ENSCP, France)
  • Amy Witzmann (Southampton, UK)
  • Ethan Wooly