Banner iamge of a globe.

New Zealand Association of Comparative Law


The New Zealand Association for Comparative Law was formed in early 1995 with the primary objectives of:

  • promoting the education and training of people in New Zealand in the field of comparative law
  • promoting the study of foreign legal systems in New Zealand
  • promoting comparative legal research and comparative legal study in New Zealand.

The Association is incorporated under the Charitable Trusts Act. It is affiliated to the International Association of Legal Sciences which operates under the auspices of UNESCO and the International Council of Social Sciences


The Association is incorporated under the New Zealand Charitable Trusts Act (1957). The Rules of the Association can be read here.


Honorary President: A H Angelo 
President: Alberto Costi
Vice-President: Matteo Solinas
Secretary-General: Ruiping Ye
Officers: Petra Butler, Joel Colon-Rios, Monique Egli Costi, Loretta DeSourdy, Graham Hassall and Andrew Townend 


Members include practitioners, judges, lawyers in government, and academics. Several members are based overseas. The current membership of the Association is included in the Annual Record of the Association, at the start of each Yearbook or can be read here.

If you are interested in becoming a member, please fill in a Membership Application Form.