Club Awards

The Blues and Gold Awards are annual events at Te Herenga Waka—Victoria University of Wellington that celebrate the successes of our clubs and student athletes.

A group photo showing all recipients of the 2022 Blues Awards posing with the Acting Vice-Chancellor
Recipients of the 2022 Blues Awards with Acting Vice-Chancellor Jennifer Windsor.

Blues Awards

The 2022 Te Herenga Waka—Victoria University of Wellington Premier Blues Awards

  • Sportsperson of the year: Lewis Clareburt (Swimming)
  • Sportswoman of the year: Georgia Plimmer (Cricket)
  • Sportsman of the year: Lewis Clareburt (Swimming)
  • Māori sportsperson of the year: Caleb Delaney (Rugby)
  • Pasifika sportsperson of the year: Kokoro Frost (Swimming)
  • Premier Sporting and Academic Excellence Award: Sammie Maxwell (Cross-country Mountain Biking)
  • Club of the Year: Victoria University of Wellington Debating Society
  • Sports Administrator of the Year: Richard Boag (Rugby)

Blues Award winners

  • Josh Amyes – Swimming
  • Ruby Baker – Hockey
  • Sean Beresford – Futsal
  • Samuel Brown – Swimming
  • Lewis Clareburt – Swimming
  • Caleb Delany – Rugby
  • Tiaki Fabish – Rugby
  • Andrew Fitzpatrick-Cockram – Ultimate Frisbee
  • Kokoro Frost – Swimming
  • Josh Gimblett – Rugby
  • Josh Goble – Surf-Lifesaving
  • Mia Harries – Netball
  • Casper Howell – Fencing
  • Paul Ireland – Beach Handball
  • Xara Jetly – Cricket
  • Dory Kemp –Canoe Racing
  • Sammie Maxwell – Cross-country Mountain Biking
  • Estelle Macadré – Hockey
  • Stacey Mather – Ultimate Frisbee
  • Tiana Metuarau – Netball
  • Samuel Penno – Debating
  • Georgia Plimmer – Cricket
  • Holly Reid – Netball
  • Keir Robinson – Debating
  • Bridget Scott – Debating
  • Ellie Stevenson – Debating
  • Savannah Sullivan – Netball
  • Te Aomania Te Koha – Netball
  • Kayli Tuiraviravi – Hockey
  • Mackenzie Tuffin – Rowing and Netball
  • Luciana Wilton – Touch Rugby

Blues awards for Sports Clubs

  • Victoria University of Wellington Debating Club
  • Victoria University of Wellington Rowing Club
  • Victoria University of Wellington Netball Club

A University Blues Award is one of New Zealand’s most prestigious and long-standing awards that recognises a university student’s performance in representing their region and/or New Zealand at the pinnacle of their sport while successfully progressing their academic studies.

From the pool of Blues Awards recipients, a range of Premier Awards are presented:

  • Sportsman of the Year
  • Sportswoman of the Year
  • Disabled Sportsperson of the Year
  • Māori Sportsperson of the Year
  • Pasifika Sportsperson of the Year
  • Premier Sportsperson of the Year.

Alongside the Blues Awards for playing sports, the following awards are also presented:

  • Blues Awards for Sports Administration and Sports Administrator of the Year
  • University Sports Awards for Coaching—finalists and Coach of the Year
  • University Sports Club Awards—finalists and Sports Club of the Year

We understand the disruptions that athletes and teams have faced over the past 12 months, but are looking forward to acknowledging those who have achieved in sport between 1 September 2021 and 31 August 2022.

Nominations for all categories in 2022 are now closed.

We are excited to acknowledge and celebrate the outstanding achievements of our athletes, volunteers, and clubs.

The Blues and Sports award recipients will be recognised in a ceremony held in the Hunter Council Chambers.

For more information on the awards, contact

Gold Awards

The Gold Awards, presented by VUWSA, recognise the most outstanding clubs of the year and reward exceptional contribution to the student experience.

For more information on the Gold Awards, or to apply for your club, go to the VUWSA website.