Philosophy prizes and scholarships

Find out about prizes and scholarships available to students of Philosophy at Te Herenga Waka—Victoria University of Wellington.

The following prizes are of particular interest to students of Philosophy:

Maurice Goldsmith Prize

  • The Maurice Goldsmith Prize is awarded annually to the top undergraduate student majoring in Philosophy and completing their B.A., and to the top student completing their Honours degree in Philosophy.

Shaun Hopkins Memorial Prize in Logic

  • Shaun Hopkins Memorial Prize in Logic was established to honour Shaun Hopkins. The prize is awarded annually to an undergraduate Philosophy student, enrolled in a ‘major’ or ‘minor’ in Philosophy, who achieves the highest total grade in Philosophy 211-Introduction to logic.

Philosophy prizewinners

See a list of previous winners of Philosophy prizes.