COVID-19 update

Read the latest COVID-19 updates from the University and find out how we are supporting our community.

Orientation and start dates

Find out when you need to arrive for International Orientation and other key dates for the start of your study.

Trimester 2, 2020

From Monday 6 July

International Orientation for undergraduate and postgraduate students available online and in-person, depending on the student's location and situation.

Monday 13 July

Classes start for all students, except EPP.

Wednesday 15 July

EPP placement test. EPP Orientation and enrolment to be confirmed at the test.


Trimester 3, 2020

Monday 26 October to Monday 2 November

Pre-start programme for New Zealand Scholarship students—compulsory arrival date 21 October.

Tuesday 3 and Wednesday 4 November

International Orientation for undergraduate, postgraduate, and Study Abroad and exchange students. For PhD students, the second day of Orientation is optional.

Wednesday 4 November

EPP placement test. EPP Orientation and enrolment to be confirmed at the test.

Friday 6 November

EPP classes start.

Monday 9 November

Classes start for all other students.


Trimester 1, 2021

Thursday 11 and Friday 12 February

International Orientation for undergraduate and postgraduate students (except Study Abroad and Exchange). For PhD students, the second day of Orientation is optional.

Monday 15 and Tuesday 16 February

International Orientation for Study Abroad and exchange students.

English Proficiency Programme (EPP)

Placement test date and start date to be confirmed.


Trimester 2, 2021

Monday 28 and Tuesday 29 June

International Orientation for undergraduate and postgraduate students (except Study Abroad and Exchange). For PhD students, the second day of Orientation is optional.

Wednesday 30 June and Thursday 1 July

International Orientation for Study Abroad and exchange students.

English Proficiency Programme (EPP)

Placement test date and start date to be confirmed.


Trimester 3, 2021

Tuesday 2 and Wednesday 3 November

International Orientation for undergraduate, postgraduate, and Study Abroad and exchange students. For PhD students, the second day of Orientation is optional.

English Proficiency Programme (EPP)

Placement test date and start date to be confirmed.