The Confucius Institute at the University is staffed by both Victoria University of Wellington and Xiamen University.

The Advisory Board of the Confucius Institute at Victoria University of Wellington meet regularly to plan new projects.

Ms. Fiona Mann is the Director of  the Confucius Institute at Victoria University of Wellington. Prof. Wen Chen is the Deputy Director of the Confucius Institute from Xiamen University. Ms. Wenqian Chen is a Chinese Teacher from Xiamen University. Ms. Summer Jiang is the Confucius Institute Administrator. The Confucius Institute benefits from the support it receives from a number of people from the Chinese community in Wellington who deliver Discover China workshops.

Its Advisory Board has senior staff from both universities, led by Roger Shew, Director International Victoria University of Wellington and Director of Chinese International Education College/Overseas Education College at Xiamen University, Ms Chen Zhiwei. The Advisory Board meets at least twice a year to review work-in-progress, plan new projects, and discuss personnel and budgetary issues.


Wen profile picture

Deputy Director Confucius Institute

Wellington University International

 profile picture

Wenqian Chen

Summer profile picture

Dr Summer Jiang


Vice-Chancellor's Office

 profile picture

Jing Wang

Advisory Board

The Advisory Board meets regularly to provide strategic advice and support of the Confucius Institute. Members of the Confucius Institute Advisory Board include:

  • Mr Roger Shew, Chair, Director International Victoria University of Wellington
  • Ms Chen Zhiwei, Co-Chair, Director, Chinese International Education College/Overseas Education College, Xiamen University
  • Professor Sarah Leggott, PVC Humanities and Education
  • Mr Dong Zhixue, Education Counsellor, Embassy of the People’s Republic of China