Chinese language proficiency tests

The University’s Confucius Institute offers HSK Level 1–6 oral and written tests for school-aged learners, secondary, tertiary and adult learners.

Test Dates for 2022

The Confucius Institute at Victoria University of Wellington offers various Chinese Language tests in 2022.

If you want to assess your level try here.

The following tests will be offered:

Test Dates


Payment Deadline

Online Registration


Sunday 27 February (online)

HSK 4,5,6

13 February


Saturday 12 March (online)

HSK 4,5,6

26 February

cancelled cancelled
Saturday 3 September (online)HSK 4,5,612 Augustclosedclosed

Saturday 17 September (Wellington)

all levels

21 August


Sunday 4 December  (Wellington)

HSK all levels

7 November

Register Pay now

We will inform you of the exam information i.e., test venue, time etc., two weeks before the test.

Online tests taken from home or the candidates preferred location are only available to New Zealand-based candidates.

Online participants will need their test environment  and computer to be set up to meet certain technical requirements and participate in a mock exercise one week before their test.

Chinese Language Test Fees in NZ $ (GST inclusive)

  1. HSK Written Test Level 1: $35
  2. HSK Written Test Level 2: $55
  3. HSK Written Test Level 3: $75
  4. HSK Written Test Level 4: $95   Online: $125
  5. HSK Written Test Level 5: $115 Online: $ 150
  6. HSK Written Test Level 6: $135 Online: $ 175

Chinese Proficiency test

HSK is an international standardized exam that tests and rates Chinese language proficiency. There are both written and spoken tests. It assesses non-native Chinese speakers’ abilities in using the Chinese language in their daily, academic and professional lives.

These tests are essential tools to determine the student’s Chinese proficiency level and useful qualifications for further language study in China and universities worldwide. HSK certificates are also often an essential requirement when applying for Chinese scholarships. The University’s Confucius Institute offers a series of training workshops and training materials for test candidates.

The written tests consist of six levels from HSK-Level 1 to HSK-Level 6. The online written tests are also being offered. Oral tests are divided into 3 levels, HSK-Speaking basic, intermediate and advance.

The levels of the new HSK correspond to the levels of the Chinese Language Proficiency Scales for Speakers of Other Languages (CLPS) and the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEF) as follows:

HSK-Level 1

  1. Vocabulary: 150
  2. CLPS: Level I
  3. CEF: A1

HSK-Level 2

  1. Vocabulary: 300
  2. CLPS: Level II
  3. CEF: A2

HSK-Level 3

  1. Vocabulary: 600
  2. CLPS: Level III
  3. CEF: B1

HSK-Level 4

  1. Vocabulary: 1200
  2. CLPS: Level IV
  3. CEF: B2

HSK-Level 5

  1. Vocabulary: 2500
  2. CLPS: Level V
  3. CEF: C1

HSK-Level 6

  1. Vocabulary: Over 5000
  2. CLPS: Level V
  3. CEF: C2


For more information on registration and test preparation workshops, please contact:

Confucius Institute
Victoria University of Wellington
PO Box 600
Wellington 6140
New Zealand