Advisory Board

The Centre’s Advisory Board includes representatives from organisations with a substantial interest in contemporary China, and meets twice a year.

The Advisory Board includes representatives of organisations (including government departments) with a substantial interest in contemporary China. The Director, Associate Directors, and the Pro Vice-Chancellor (WFHSS) of Victoria University of Wellington are ex officio members of the Board.


Tony Browne profile picture photograph

Tony Browne

Tony Browne

Executive Chairman
New Zealand Contemporary China Research Centre

Pro Vice Chancellor Humanities and Education · The org unit includes the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences and Faculty of Education
Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

Charles Finny profile-picture photograph

Charles Finny

Chairman Education New Zealand

Suzannah Jessep profile-picture photograph

Suzannah Jessep

Director- Engagement and Research Asia New Zealand Foundation

Deborah Geels profile-picture photograph

Deborah Geels

Director North Asia Division, Ministry of Foreign Affairs & Trade

Dr Peter Mumford profile-picture photograph

Dr Peter Mumford

Director, Trade and International Environment branch Ministry of Business, Innovation & Employment

Mike Arand profile-picture photograph

Mike Arand

New Zealand Trade and Enterprise

Danni Thian profile-picture photograph

Danni Thian

Senior Analyst, International The Treasury