Ngā tohu whakahōnore whakaako

Teaching awards

Victoria University of Wellington staff are recognised for excellence in learning and teaching through internal and external awards.

Victoria University of Wellington awards

Each year Victoria University of Wellington recognises outstanding teachers through the Teaching Excellence Awards.

Te Herenga Waka—Victoria University of Wellington Teaching Excellence Awards recognise and promote sustained excellence in teaching. There are two categories of awards:

  • Teaching Excellence Award (TEA)
  • Early Career Teaching Award (ECTA).

Further information on the award process—including application criteria and guidelines for portfolios—is available on the staff intranet.

National awards

Victoria University of Wellington staff are often recipients of national Te Whatu Kairangi, Aotearoa Tertiary Educator Awards. These annual awards are managed by Ako Aotearoa and aim to celebrate and promote sustained excellence in tertiary teaching in New Zealand.

Preparing to apply

The Centre for Academic Development can help staff prepare to apply for an award. They run workshops on preparing a professional teaching portfolio and also offer one-on-one support.