O-Week exhibition banner with dates and logo

O-Week Exhibition

Annual Architecture and Design Innovation end of year exhibition of Te Herenga Waka—Victoria University of Wellington

O-week Exhibition 2022 is showcasing an impressive range of talent by students across the different year levels from the Te Wāhanga Waihanga-Hoahoa—Wellington Faculty of Architecture and Design Innovation. O-week is the perfect opportunity for staff and students to come together and celebrate these creative thinkers, makers, minds, designers and architects of the future—soon to be shaping our Aotearoa, and the world.

To keep our students and staff safe, the on-campus exhibition will not be accessible to the public. An online exhibition celebrating the students' work will open also later in 2022. We will update the details to the EOYE page once information becomes available

On-campus Exhibition


23 February— 9 March 2022 (Covid19 safety dependant)


Atrium, Te Aro Campus, Wellington Faculty of Architecture and Design Innovation, 139 Vivian Street, New Zealand

Wellington Faculty of Architecture and Design Innovation Excellence Awards 2021

  • Excellence Award for First Year Design: Lawrence Reid and Shaz Hutching-Bell
  • Excellence Award for Design for Social Innovation: Rebecca Jeromson and Sophia Meldrum
  • Excellence Award for Industrial Design: Eliot Lundon Moore and Evan Vallender
  • Excellence Award for Media Design: Laura Garcia and Ginny Lee
  • Excellence Award for Interaction Design: Isabella Carter and Cody Westerman
  • Excellence Award for Animation Design: Jim Guo and Michelle Pretorius
  • Excellence Award for Communication Design: Tahlia Conrad-Hinga and Caleb Spierings
  • Excellence Award for Fashion Design: Alexandra Growcott and Lexie Etherington

School of Design Innovation industry awards 2021

  • Springload Award for Innovation and Excellence within Design for Social Innovation:  Annalise Scott
  • New Zealand Product Accelerator Award for Excellence in Industrial Design: Sanika Ratanpal
  • Gibson Group Award for Innovation and Excellence within Media Design: (Group project) Poorly Designed Robots by Jamie Gambles, Grace Smyth, Jesse Redstall, Adam Kwiecien, Quinn Herring, Elias Wood
  • IBM Award for Making a Difference through Innovation and Excellence in Interaction Design: Georgia Windle
  • Ocean Design Award for Excellence in Communication Design: Ronia Ibrahim
  • Fox and Co. Award for Excellence in Animation and Visual Effects: Monique Corich Hermans
  • The Walker Sotech Award for Innovation and Excellence in Fashion Design Technology: Olivia Campbell

Preview of the student work

INDN311: Detachable bicycle case for your computer by Julia Sasse.
INDN390: Planning the next turn: Board games for the future by Evan Vallender.
INDN390: Backyard Travellers by Sanika Ratanpal.


Violette Squire, Faculty Activities Coordinator, violette.squire@vuw.ac.nz

Thank you

Students and staff from the whole Faculty, School of Design Innovation's event's committee, awards partners, family, friends and other supporters that have made this exhibition possible.