Treaty of Waitangi Research Unit

The Treaty of Waitangi Research Unit was established in January 1999 to provide independent, high quality research and advice on Treaty of Waitangi matters.

The Treaty of Waitangi Research Unit (TOWRU) is interdisciplinary and capitalises on the special location, communities and resources of Wellington, including the holdings of the National and Alexander Turnbull Libraries and Archives New Zealand.

TOWRU is based at the Stout Research Centre for New Zealand Studies. It welcomes approaches from potential students at MA and PhD level.

Director: Professor Richard Hill

Supervisor for Doctoral Thesis · Honorary Adjunct Professor
Stout Research Centre

Mailing address

Victoria University of Wellington
PO Box 600
Wellington 6140
New Zealand

Street address

12 Waiteata Road
VUW Kelburn Campus