New national name to reflect University’s strengths and impact in women’s health research

The Centre for Women’s Health Research is now called Te Tātai Hauora o Hine—National Centre for Women’s Health Research Aotearoa (NCWHRA).

The name change reflects the University’s strength in women’s health research, the nation-wide impact of the Centre, the international reach of students and research, and the Centre’s geographic proximity and access to New Zealand’s capital city and government.

Founder and Director of the Centre Professor Beverley Lawton says the new name is important as it recognises the national impact of the Centre. “Whilst based at Te Herenga Waka, our work and partnerships are across Aotearoa."

Dean of the Wellington Faculty of Health Professor Markus Melloh says the name change is a beautiful example of how Te Herenga Waka is positioning itself as a leader in the health space, deeply committed to Aotearoa’s Māori and non-Māori communities, taking on the challenge to make Aotearoa a healthier place day by day.

“The Te Tātai Hauora o Hine—National Centre for Women’s Health Research Aotearoa will continue to be a beacon in Women’s Health Research across the Tasman Sea and beyond.”

The Centre has gone from strength to strength since joining Te Wāhanga Tātai Hauora—Wellington Faculty of Health in 2017, positively impacting the health and wellbeing of thousands of wāhine and whānau across Aotearoa. Many of the Centre’s projects are established in partnership with local government, Iwi, and community groups around the country.

The NCWHRA’s work has been pivotal to achieving change at a national level in areas such as cervical cancer prevention through HPV women’s self-testing, recognised in parliament and in Professor Lawton’s nomination for the 2021 Women of Influence awards (Innovation, Science & Health).

Current projects underway include a new partnership with Ngāti Toa in Porirua on an integrated maternity hub, the He Korowai Manaaki research partnership between the Centre and the Ngāti Pāhauwera Development Trust in Te Wairoa, Hawke’s Bay, and a partnership with Mahitahi Hauora in Te Tai Tokerau Northland.