Centre Director up for 2020 Wellingtonian of the Year Award

Professor Beverley Lawton, Director of Te Tātai Hauora o Hine—the Centre for Women’s Health Research, is a finalist in the education category of the awards.

Professor Lawton, nō Ngāti Porou, is an internationally-recognised expert in women’s health whose work addresses health inequity by driving kaupapa Māori (by Māori, with Māori, for Māori) research innovation to transform health services, systems, and policy—with the aim to eliminate preventable harm and death for women and children in New Zealand.

The Dominion Post Wellingtonian of the Year Awards were started in 1989. They “celebrate achievements and contributions across all sectors of the greater Wellington community, awarding those who make the Wellington region the exciting and vibrant place it is.”

Winners for the 2020 awards will be announced at the Wellingtonian of the Year Awards night on 17 March 2021.

Professor Lawton’s contributions to women’s health have led to changes in policy and practice in New Zealand and internationally. She founded and leads Te Tātai Hauora o Hine—The Centre for Women’s Health Research and co-founded the Wellington Menopause Clinic, which provides Wellington women with expert, evidence-based treatment of menopause symptoms.

She also supports the future of research in this area, leading a team of ten research staff at Te Herenga Waka—Victoria University of Wellington, and works with researchers nationally and internationally. She is committed to preparing and mentoring the next generation of Māori women’s health researchers by providing research positions, training, and professional development opportunities at the Centre.

Professor Lawton was appointed an Officer of the NZ Order of Merit by the Queen for services to women’s health in 2005, made a Distinguished Fellow of the Royal College of General Practice in 2017 and awarded the Australasian Menopause Society Award for contributions to women’s health.

In 2020, she was a finalist in the Women of Influence Awards and received the Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists Māori Women’s Health Award.

Previous staff members from the University who have been nominated or received a Welingtonian of the Year award in the past include Professor Lydia Wevers, Professor Rawinia Higgins, Professor Richard Furneaux, Dr Vini Olsen-Reader, Dr Lorena Gibson, and Dr Mike Joy.