Award recipients

The Excellence Awards are a tangible way of recognising and promoting excellence in teaching. Find out who the latest award recipients are.

2016 Ako Aotearoa Tertiary Teaching Excellence Award

Dr Azra Mooed: School of Education

Dr Azra Mooed was recognised for being an outstanding educator for both new and existing teachers with a 2016 Ako Aotearoa Tertiary Teaching Excellence award.

“She makes science sing” a student comments while another writes, ”she guided me through exactly what I wanted or needed to know at that very moment – valuable for not just the subject but across the whole course and in wider life too.” This is the hallmark of a passionate, committed and knowledgeable teacher of a subject that for many can be seen as uninteresting.

Azra is a lifelong learner and this is demonstrated by the depth of her knowledge. Her productive relationships with students and colleagues are matched by her innovative course design. She wrote an online science teacher programme that used specially made videos and audio resources with interactive and collaborative student activities. Colleagues describe her as “an exceptionally dedicated and inspiring teacher who constantly receives outstanding teacher evaluations.”

Azra’s great passion for students, research, colleagues, and learning and teaching extends well beyond the classroom and touches the very heart of her students in a meaningful way. She is a truly worthy recipient of this prestigious award.

Related stories

Dr Azra Moeed winner of the Ako Aotearoa Tertiary Teaching Excellence Award.

A teacher's learning

Dr Azra Moeed says it’s been a lifetime of learning–not a lifetime of teaching–that led to her receiving an Ako Aotearoa Tertiary Teaching Excellence Award (TTEA).