Alumni and staff success in Jubilee Queen’s Birthday Honours List

Adjunct Professor Daphne Rickson, who taught for 18 years into the Music Therapy programme at the New Zealand School of Music—Te Kōkī has become an Officer of the New Zealand Order of Merit for her services to music therapy.

The citation says, “Dr Rickson’s work as a registered music therapist, researcher, lecturer, presenter, author, and journal editor has had a significant impact on the growth of the profession in New Zealand.”

“Dr Rickson’s dedication to music therapy as an art-based practice for improving individual and community well-being has been inspirational for students and colleagues during her long tenure at Te Kōkī,” says Te Kōkī deputy director Associate Professor Dugal McKinnon.

Holder of an honorary doctorate of Commerce, Sir Tipene O’Regan, became part of the exclusive Order of New Zealand, and 2017 distinguished alumna Judge Carolyn Henwood was named a Dame of the Order.

2021 distinguished alumna Stacey Shortall has been made a Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit for services to the law and the community. Find out more about Stacey in this podcast recorded with Professor Yvette Tinsley.

Kaiwhakakapi Tumu Whakarae—Acting Vice-Chancellor Professor Jennifer Windsor says, “We’re very proud of our alumni and staff members who have been recognised for the deep commitment to their work and passion to make meaningful change in our communities.

“Our congratulations from all at the University for these achievements.”

Other alumni who were honoured are listed below. Congratulations to them all.

Knight Companion of New Zealand Order of Merit

Mr Heughan (Hugh) Rennie – for services to governance, the law, business and the community

Dame Companion of New Zealand Order of Merit

Dr Judith McGregor – for services to human rights and health

Officers of New Zealand Order of Merit

Ms Souella Cumming, member of the Advisory Board for the Wellington School of Business and Government – for services to governance
Ms Hinerangi Edwards – for services to Māori, governance and education
Mr Donald Griffin – for services to tertiary education and sport
Dr Daphne Rickson – for services to music therapy

Members of New Zealand Order of Merit

Mr Siaoasi(George) Fa’alogo – for services to the New Zealand Police and the community
Dr Linita Manu’atu – for services to Pacific education and the Tongan community

Queen’s Service Medal

Sister Cynthia Kearney – for services to missionary work and the community
Ms Gabrielle-Sisifo (Gabby) Makisi – for services to Pacific communities and education
Mr Craig McFarlane – for services to education and music
Reverend Hiueni Nuku – for services to Tongan and pacific communities

Companions of Queens’ Service Order

Dr Leslie Molloy – for services to conservation and outdoor recreation

Order of New Zealand

The Honourable Dame Silvia Cartwright, member of the Advisory Board for the National Centre of Women’s Health Research Aotearoa—Te Tātai Hauora o Hine – for services to New Zealand