Welly goodness

Congratulations to all of our staff, students, alumni, and stakeholders recognised as finalists in the 2021 Wellys.

Associate Professor Maria Bargh from Te Kawa a Māui has been recognised in the Education shortlist for her work researching and teaching Māori politics in the School of Māori Studies. Former staff member, composer John Psathas, has been recognised in the Arts shortlist.

Student Jaistone Finau has been recognised in the youth category. Jaistone is the National President of Tauira Pasifika and will be a student representative on the Te Herenga Waka—Victoria University of Wellington Council from 2022-24. This category is sponsored by Te Herenga Waka.

Alumni of the university that have been recognised for their achievements are: Tim Brown and Helmut Modlik, for their contributions to business; Vicki-Anne Heikell and Dame Patsy Reddy, for their contributions to public service; Robyn Hunt, for her community service; Jonathan and Simon Kennett, for their work benefiting the environment; Jacqui Maguire for her contribution to education; and Terry Miller and Dianne Sika-Paotonu for their contributions to science and technology.

View the full list of finalists.

The winners will be awarded on Thursday 24 February at a ceremony at The Embassy.