Hours for the year

Library opening hours for 2020.

Daily hours

All librariesHours
Monday–Friday 8 am–midnight
Saturday, Sunday, and public holidays 10 am–10 pm

Service points at all libraries are staffed  8 am–8 pm on weekdays and 10 am–3 pm on weekends and public holidays. Please see our service standards page for more information on the services available at these times.

Public holidays

Public holidaysDayHours
Normal hours resume Monday 6 January 2019 8 am–midnight
Anniversary Day Monday 20 January 10 am–10 pm
Waitangi Day Thursday 6 February 10 am–10 pm
Good Friday Friday 10 April Closed
Easter Saturday Saturday 11 April 10 am–10 pm
Easter Sunday Sunday 12 April Closed
Easter Monday Monday 13 April 10 am–10 pm
Easter Tuesday Tuesday 14 April (University holiday) 10 am–10 pm
Anzac Day observed Monday 27 April 10 am–10 pm
Queen’s Birthday Monday 1 June 10 am–10 pm
Labour Day Monday 26 October 10 am–10 pm
Christmas closedown Friday 18 December 8 am–5 pm
Christmas and New Year Saturday 19 December 2020–Sunday
3 January 2021
Closed