Sekhar Bandyopadhyay Award


This Award acknowledges and celebrates the distinguished career of Prof. Sekhar Bandyopadhyay, Professor of History at Victoria University of Wellington between 1992 and 2019. The Award recognises excellence in the fields of history of colonialism and nationalism, India, South Asia and the Indian diaspora.

The prize is awarded at the end of the academic year by the History programme, from a shortlist of outstanding essays compiled through the academic year. The winner is selected from a shortlist devised by the Programme staff and there are no provisions for applications to be made by students.

The recipient will be asked to write a letter of appreciation, which will be forwarded appropriately.


$500 (subject to available funds)


No application required.


This Award is presented to the best essay in the history of colonialism or nationalism in each academic year.

Essays must be submitted as part of the coursework towards an undergraduate or postgraduate degree (PhD excl.) in History at Victoria University of Wellington to be eligible.

Essays must be concerned with histories of colonialism and/or nationalism, broadly understood across geographical contexts. The judging committee reserves the give special consideration to any submission pertaining to the history of South Asia.