Prize for Original Composition


This prize arises from a fund established by the Wai-te-ata Press and the Victoria University Press in 1986 in memory of Pamela Tomlinson, the first editor of Victoria University Press. Its purpose is to encourage original writing.

The prize is awarded annually on the recommendation of the Head of the International Institute of Modern Letters, to the best person worthy of the prize in the year of the award.

The value of the prize in any year is determined after consideration of the income from the fund. In any year, any part of the income from the fund not expended will be added to the fund.

The recipient will be asked to write a letter of appreciation, which will be forwarded appropriately.


$500 (subject to available funds)


No application required


Students must be enrolled in CREW 254, CREW 257, or CREW 354.