Public policy intellect recognised by Minister of Finance at prize-giving

The School of Government’s top students for 2020 were celebrated at a delayed prize-giving at Parliament in February 2021, hosted by Hon Grant Robertson.

Photo of prizewinners with Hon Grant Robetson and Provost Wendy Larner
Pictured from left seated: Pernelle Vari, Hon Grant Robertson, Provost Wendy Larner, Carrie Buckmaster. Tim Newton-Howes. Standing from left: Leah Haines, Kurt Barber, Thomas Morrisey, Rebecca Kimpton (Prize-winner Jacob Flanagan was unable to attend)

Minister of Finance Hon Grant Robertson, Provost Wendy Larner and Head of School Professor Girol Karacaoglu were among the esteemed guests and friends gathered to celebrate the prize-winners as well as the School of Government's successful year.

Hon Robertson spoke of how important public policy ‘intelligence’ has been during the public service’s response to the Covid-19 pandemic and the role of the School of Government in building that capability.

The prize-giving marked the end of another busy and productive year for the School. One highlight was the post lockdown Sir Frank Holmes lecture by epidemiologist Professor Sir David Skegg. He spoke to a large audience about lessons for the future from the Covid-19 pandemic.

Earlier in the year the School had hosted Professor Sir Partha Dasgupta from the University of Cambridge, as the 2020 Professorial Fellow in Monetary and Financial Economics.

During the year success was also celebrated at the Women of Influence Awards where alumna and Solicitor-General Una Jagose, won the Public Policy Section. Another alumna, Annie Aranui, Regional Commissioner East Coast Region for the Ministry of Social Development, was a finalist. She was also one of ten recipients of a New Zealand Public Service medal at the Te Kawa Mataaho - Public Service Commission’s Spirit of Service awards, also sponsored by the School of Government.

Eight prizes were awarded acknowledging the achievements of students who had shown academic excellence and a strong commitment to their studies.

2020 School of Government prizewinners

  • Kurt Barber, Prime Minister’s Prize in Public Policy
  • Carrie Buckmaster, Prime Minister’s Prize in Public Management
  • Pernelle Vari Institute of Public Administration New Zealand Prize in Public Administration
  • Jacob Flanagan, Taituarā(SOLGM) Prize in Public Policy
  • Rebecca Kimpton & Thomas Morrisey, Seamus Hogan Prize in Public Economics
  • Leah Haines, Bernard Galvin Prize
  • Tim Newton-Howes, Holmes Prize