Crucial role of public policy highlighted by Minister of Finance at School of Government prize-giving

The School of Government’s top students for 2019 were recognised at a special prizegiving in November.

Minister of Finance Hon Grant Robertson, Vice-Chancellor Grant Guilford, Provost Wendy Larner and Head of School Professor Girol Karacaoglu were among the esteemed guests and friends gathered to celebrate the prize-winners as well as the School of Government's successful year.

Hon Robertson spoke of the importance of the School of Government in training policy professionals, as well as a cohort of Members of Parliament who were undertaking a tailored course in public policy, before handing out the awards. Eight prizes were awarded acknowledging the achievements of students who had shown academic excellence and a strong commitment to their studies.

The prize-giving marked the end of another busy and productive year for the School. One highlight includes the 2019 International Research Society for Public Management conference which was hosted by the School in April. 340 delegates from around the world attended the three day conference.

In another highlight, the School has signed a dual degree memorandum of understanding with Evans’ School of Public Policy at the University of Washington in the United States. The agreement allow students of both universities to study towards a Global Master of Administration in the US and then a Master of Public Policy, Public Management or e-Government in Wellington.

Across 2019 the School hosted a number of talks and lectures, including the annual Sir Frank Holmes Memorial lecture where Professor Robert Wade gave a talk on ‘Why the ‘Trump era’ could last thirty years’. Around 200 people attended the evening. Minister of Education Hon Chris Hipkins, was also hosted by the School for the announcement of the State Sector Act reform, in front of over one hundred invited guests and media.

Success was also celebrated in September at the State Services Commission’s Spirit of Service awards with two current students being key managers in the overall winning project, the ‘Healthy Homes Initiative’. A third student was part of the team which won the Maori/Crown Relationships Award for ‘Sustainable Development in the Hawkes Bay’. The School also sponsored the Leadership in Governance award which was won by the ‘Enabling Good Lives’ project between the Ministry of Social Development and Ministry of Health.

2019 School of Government prizewinners

  • Tane Leong, Prime Minister’s Prize in Public Policy
  • Madeleine Lee, Prime Minister’s Prize in Public Management
  • Miranda Smith, Institute of Public Administration New Zealand Prize in Public Administration
  • Natalie Vaughan, SOLGM Prize in Public Policy
  • Djon Pye, Seamus Hogan Prize in Public Economics
  • Ashleigh Brown, Laurie Cameron Scholarship
  • Lisa Kitione, Bernard Galvin Prize
  • Carrie Buckmaster, Holmes Prize