Excellence rewarded

Seventeen of Victoria’s outstanding academics were honoured at an event at Parliament in July.

Teaching Awards were presented to Dr James McKinnon and Dr Ross Woods and Teaching Excellence Awards to Professor Dale Carnegie, Dr Sally Hill, Dr Rob Keyzers, Dr Azra Moeed and Lisa Terreni.

Early Career Research Awards were presented toDr Sasha Calhoun, Inbal Megiddo and Dr Franck Natali and Research Excellence Awards to Associate Professor Simon Davy, Dr Gina Grimshaw, Associate Professor Kate Hunter, Associate Professor Paul Jose, Professor Miriam Lips, Professor John Pratt and Dr Sydney Shep.

Vice-Chancellor Professor Grant Guilford described the teaching award recipients as, “people who have gone above and beyond the call of duty and made a lasting impact on the lives of students at Victoria”.

Victoria researchers, Professor Guilford said, “continue to lead national and international thinking on significant issues facing our communities. From understanding the impacts of climate change to addressing the challenges of building a well-functioning society, Victoria is committed to harnessing the creativity of our brightest minds.”