Chair in Digital Government: Objectives, sponsors, and advisory board

The position of the Chair of Digital Government (previously e-Government) was established by Victoria University of Wellington to provide 'thought leadership' in the field of digital government, to undertake research and research dissemination, provide leadership and co-ordination with other academics working in the field, and provide academic opportunities in the field.

Mission: The Chair in Digital Government creates and shares knowledge of digital government and democracy to provide thought leadership, develop and enhance capability, and promote solutions for advancing better government in the digital age.

In accordance with the Memorandum of Understanding between Victoria University of Wellington and the Chair’s sponsors, the objectives of the Chair are to:

  1. Provide thought leadership.
  2. Lead and undertake research based on an annually-updated research programme.
  3. Provide leadership and coordination for other academics working at Victoria University of Wellington and other universities in New Zealand, as well as internationally, in the field of digital government and related disciplines.
  4. Act as a first point of contact between external parties and academics working in digital government and related disciplines at Victoria University of Wellington and other universities in New Zealand and overseas.
  5. Teach/contribute to teaching programmes in the Schools of Government and of Information Management at Victoria University of Wellington that generate understanding of digital government.
  6. Work with the Victoria University of Wellington Foundation to attract further external funding as appropriate for specific projects or research areas, in consultation with the leading sponsors.
  7. In regard to the proportion of time to be committed to the activities above, it is anticipated that activities outlined under (1) and (2) will, on average, occupy at least 50% of the Chair’s time.

About our sponsors

The School of Government acknowledges the support of the Department of Internal Affairs and Ministry of Education, that assist the Chair of Digital Government undertake research and other activities.

The Department of Internal Affairs Ministry of Education logo

About our Advisory Board

Our Advisory Board consists of the following members:

  • Laurence Zwimpfer, Director, Zwimpfer Communications (Chair)
  • Anne-Marie Cavanagh, GM System Transformation, Department of Internal Affairs
  • Helen Walter, Senior Policy Advisor, Ministry of Education
  • Professor Ian Williamson, Pro-Vice Chancellor and Dean of Commerce, Victoria University of Wellington
  • Professor Girol Karacaoglu, Head of School, School of Government, Victoria University of Wellington
  • Dr Janet Toland, Head of School, School of Information Management, Victoria University of Wellington