About the Chair

Professor Chris Marshall is the inaugural holder of the Chair in Restorative Justice.

Professor Chris Marshall.
Professor Chris Marshall, the inaugural holder of the Diana Unwin Chair in Restorative Justice

New Chair Sought

Position available (PDF)

Chris has published extensively on restorative justice, including All Things Reconciled (2018), Compassionate Justice: An Interdisciplinary Dialogue (2012) and Beyond Retribution (2001).

He has also written on human rights, religious violence and theological ethics.

Professor Marshall is an experienced restorative justice facilitator and was lead author of the “Statement on Restorative Justice Values and Processes”, adopted by the Ministry of Justice in 2004 as part of its Best Practice standards.

In 2004 he received an International Community Justice Award, presented in London by Princess Anne. In 2008 he received a teaching excellence award from Victoria University of Wellington and in 2009 was awarded a National Tertiary Teaching Excellence Award. In 2015 he was awarded the Michael Klug Award from the Resolution Institute, and in 2016 the Excellence in Engagement Award from Victoria University of Wellington. He received a Post-Graduate Supervisors Award from the Postgraduate Students Association in 2017.

A frequent conference speaker, Professor Marshall has lectured in a dozen countries around the world and was appointed the Chair in Restorative Justice in 2014.

Full list of publications by Chris Marshall