Wellington School of Business and Government celebrates our top performing students

The School of Government's top graduating students were among those celebrated at Wellington School of Business and Government’s annual Excellence Awards held at Rutherford House.

The Wellington School of Business and Government Excellence Awards recognise the highest achieving students who have excelled academically across each of our business disciplines including Public Policy and Public Management.

The awards also celebrate students in the specialist disciplines across our Professional Master’s programmes.

At the awards ceremony on Monday 17 May, Acting Pro-Vice-Chancellor and Dean of Commerce Professor Jane Bryson said it was great to acknowledge the successes of WSBG’s outstanding students amongst their friends, family, fellow students, University supporters and staff.

“While we do our best to give you everything you need to achieve your goals, it would all be for nothing without the hard work and commitment you have dedicated to your education and for which you are being recognised tonight. We are all proud of what you have achieved and look forward to seeing what you go on to do in the future. Wherever you end up going and whatever you end up doing, please stay in touch,” said Professor Bryson.

Guest speaker Lucas Gammie, acting Head of Pricing at Contact Energy, spoke about his career journey since he graduated from WSBG with a Master of Commerce in 2015.

“While I didn't expect to do post-graduate studies, I know I'm so much better off for doing it. It challenged me in so many different ways and equipped me with the tools I needed to succeed in the workforce.”

Top School of Government students

Isabella Crawford—Master of Public Policy

Kelly Stone—Master of e-Government

Clayton Willocks—Master of Public Management

Howe Deng - Public policy

Other top Master’s students

Rachel Bell—Master of Information Studies

Yuk Lung Choi—Master of Professional Business Analysis

Katherine Farmer—Master of Information Management

Alina Haider—Master of Business Administration

Leah Haines—Master of Public Policy

Shamanthi Jayawardena—Master of Global Marketing

Tyrell Johnston—Master of Applied Finance

Daniel Robertson—Executive Master of Business Administration

Lauren Wilcock Breen—Master of Professional Economics

Yang Xuang—Master of Professional Accounting

See the full list of Wellington School of Business and Government Excellence Award winners.