Marketing academics and professionals descend on Wellington

Close to 500 marketing academics and professionals from around the world descended on the Wellington School of Business and Government in December for the 2019 Australia and New Zealand Marketing Academy (ANZMAC) conference.

Professor John Deighton hosts a presentation at the ANZMAC conference

The annual ANZMAC conference, which was hosted by the School of Marketing and International Business, is a leading source of marketing information, knowledge and research development for both practitioners and researchers.

The theme for the conference was ‘Winds of Change.’ Presentations focused on the technological, social, environmental and political turbulence the world is experiencing and how marketers can address these global issues and push the boundaries for marketing in disruptive and uncertain times.

A variety of speakers addressed the conference, including Professor John Deighton, the Harold M. Brierley Professor of Business Administration Emeritus at Harvard Business School; Dr Russel Norman, Executive Director of Greenpeace New Zealand and former co-leader of the New Zealand Green Party; and Professor Connie Pechmann, Professor of Marketing at University of California Irvine.

Altogether there were approximately 386 presentations given over the three day conference—including many by researchers from the University including Associate Professor Dan Laufer, Dr Michelle Renton, Dr Janet Davey, Dr Fandy Tjiptono, Dr Matevz Raskovic, Dr Djavlonbek Kadirov, Dr Martyn Gosling, and Associate Professor James Richard.

Doctoral students Rene Versteegh and Jorge Pablo Correa Gonzalez (Pablo) from the School’s Marketing programme also presented with Pablo receiving a best paper in track award.”

“It was fantastic to be able to host the 2019 ANZMAC conference here in Wellington,” says Head of the School of Marketing and International Business, Associate Professor Val Hooper. “The conference was a huge success. The number of attendees completely exceeded our expectations and we’ve received lots of positive feedback. I’d like to thank everyone involved in putting on the conference—with a special mention to Associate Professor Dan Laufer, Dr Kate Daellenbach, and Claire Williams for all of their work as co-chairs of the organising committee.”