2021 Lilburn Trust NZSM Composers Competition

The 2021 Lilburn Trust NZSM Composers Competition was a celebration of a year of creative endeavour in the Composition Programme at the New Zealand School of Music—Te Kōkī. The programme demonstrated the diversity and breadth of activity: finalists ranged from a work for solo erhu, to game audio, to a work performed on repurposed discarded electronics, to a large ensemble of winds, strings and percussion.

Photo of all the composers from the competition

The finalists were chosen from submissions of new pieces written for assessment throughout 2021, and presented as a concert at the Adam Concert Room. A jury of three experts — Anna Edgington (Massey), Dr. Ewan Clark (VUW) and Shannon Pittaway (VUW) — made the difficult deliberations afterwards, in the end awarding a number of prizes to works they felt deserving.

The results were:

First place: Liam Furey ‘Emerge’ for mixed chamber ensemble

Second equal: Sai Natarajan ‘Medievalien’ (game audio)

Second equal: Zak Argabrite ‘5 Episodes’ for discarded electronics and live projections

Third equal: Jacob Barrett ‘Rattlesnake’ for solo guitar

Third equal: Nathan Carter ‘Moving Machines’ for 8-channel electroacoustic audio

Highly Commended: Sonya Ishimnikova ’The Sun Sets at 6pm’ for electroacoustic audio

Best use of Music Technology: Zak Argabrite

Performer prize: Isabella Gregory (flute)