

# New Zealand Indian Diaspora Convention 2014: A Dialogue with Academic, Business and Community Leaders

Organised by: New Zealand India Research Institute

Hosted by: AUT Business School, Auckland

Date: 26 July 2014

Venue: AUT University, Te Iringa (WG308) Sir Paul Reeves Building, AUT City Campus, corner Mayoral Drive and Governor Fitzroy Place, Auckland 1010

#### **PROGRAMME**

10 - 11 AM: Inauguration

### Speakers

- Prof. Sekhar Bandyopadhyay, Director, NZIRI welcome
- Prof. Kate Kearins, Deputy Dean, Faculty of Business & Law, AUT
- Mr Sunil Kaushal, Head of India Relations, ANZ Bank
- Sir Anand Satyanand, Former Governor General
- HE Mr Ravi Thapar, High Commissioner for India
- Hon. Judith Collins, Minister for Ethnic Affairs
- Prof. Edwina Pio, Associate Director, NZIRI vote of thanks
- MC: Rahul Sen, AUT

### 11- 11-.30: Coffee

## 11.30 – 1 PM: Academic panel: Indians in New Zealand: past and present Panellists:

- 1. Todd Nachowitz, Waikato
- 2. Jacqueline Leckie, Otago
- 3. Edwina Pio AUT
- 4. Richard Bedford, AUT

**Moderator:** Sekhar Bandyopadhyay VUW

[Each panellist gets 10 minutes – 50 minutes for discussion]

1 PM - 2 PM: Lunch

### 2 – 3.30 PM: Business panel: Indian business in NZ and doing business with India

#### **Panellists:**

- 1. Sunil Kaushal, ANZ Bank; Chair, INZBC
- 2. Wenceslaus Anthony, Member, Advisory Board, NZIRI
- 3. Vinod Kumar, Managing Director, Henderson and Botany Mitre10
- 4. Venkat Raman, Editor, Indian Newslink
- 5. Rahul Sen, AUT

Moderator: Mina Patel, AUT

[Each panellist gets 10 minutes – 40 minutes for discussion]

3.30 – 4 PM: Tea



### 4 - 5.30 PM: Community panel: opportunities and challenges for Indians in ΝZ

### **Panellists:**

- 1. Ashok Darji, President, Auckland Indian Association
- 2. Pushpa Wood, GOPIO
- 3. Rajinder Bedi, JP, Secretary Auckland Sikh Society
- 4. Naena Chhima, former Chair of the Wellington Indian Association Mahila Samaj
- 5. Ann Degia-Pala QSM, Founder/Director, EthNix Links & Advocacy Network

Moderator: Smita Singh, AUT

[Each panellist gets 10 minutes – 40 minutes for discussion]

### 5.30 - 5.45 PM: Winding up and thanks

Sekhar Bandyopadhyay and Edwina Pio







