Leading the agenda in Aotearoa’s healthcare reforms

Dr Clive Aspin will be taking a lead role in contributing to Aotearoa’s most significant health reforms, with a one-year secondment to Te Aka Whai Ora, the new Māori Health Authority.

Portrait of Dr Clive Aspin
Dr Clive Aspin

Dr Clive Aspin (Ngāti Maru, Ngāti Whanaunga and Ngāti Tamaterā), Poukairangi (Māori) – Associate Dean (Māori) in the Wellington Faculty of Health—Te Wāhanga Tātai Hauora, has been seconded to the position of Research and Development Lead within the Systems Strategy and Transformation Directorate of Te Aka Whai Ora.

Dr Aspin said he was honoured to contribute to one of the most significant health system reforms in Aotearoa.

“The reforms with three new entities, including Te Aka Whai Ora, will lead to monumental changes to our health system that are designed to bring about long overdue improvements in the health of tangata whenua, and all people in Aotearoa. I’m excited to be part of this hugely important re-orientation of health services for Aotearoa, not only for Māori, but for everyone else as well.”

His role will involve leading the development of Te Aka Whai Ora’s research agenda in response to community and whānau needs and input, he said.

“Te Aka Whai Ora knows this approach will bring about the changes we desperately need to see.

“Te Aka Whai Ora is designed to work closely with communities in ways that allow the voices of whānau to be heard loud and clear. I feel very privileged to work with an agency that puts whānau at the front and centre of their research agenda.”

Dr Aspin will be working closely with others at Te Aka Whai Ora and the Ministry of Health to ensure the programme complements research funded by the Health Research Council and the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment, while also seeking new and innovative ways of contributing to Aotearoa’s Māori health research.

“I am honoured to be part of this exciting venture.”

Dr Aspin’s one-year secondment started on July 4. He will retain a 0.2FTE Academic position in the School of Health—Te Kura Tātai Hauora.