

TE RŪNANGA COUNCIL 2023



Back row from left: David McLean, Secretary to Council Caroline Ward, Professor Richard Arnold, James Te Puni (Ngāti Porou), Kelly Mitchell.

Front row from left: Cath Nesus (Ngāti Porou), Chancellor John Allen, Vice-Chancellor Professor Nic Smith, Pania Gray, Alan Judge.

Absent: Pro-Chancellor Hon. Maryan Street, Professor Brigitte Bönisch-Brednich, Jaistone Finau.

Meetings and payments

The payments to Council members listed below include attendance at Council and committee meetings during 2023. The Vice-Chancellor, Professor Nic Smith, is not eligible to receive fee payments.

	COUNCIL MEETINGS		COMMITTEE MEETINGS		
NAME	ELIGIBLE TO ATTEND	ATTENDED	ELIGIBLE TO ATTEND	ATTENDED	PAYMENT (\$)
John Allen	13	13	23	22	40,000
Richard Arnold	13	12	9	7	20,000
Brigitte Bönisch-Brednich	13	10	9	7	20,000
Jaistone Finau	13	11	5	4	20,000
Pania Gray	13	12	6	6	20,000
Alan Judge	13	12	8	7	20,000
David McLean	13	10	8	6	20,000
Kelly Mitchell	13	13	13	13	20,000
Cath Nesus	13	11	10	10	20,000
Nic Smith	13	13	21	21	N/A
Hon. Maryan Street	13	12	19	16	25,000
James Te Puni	13	13	8	8	20,000

Disclosures—Council 2023

John Allen

- Chair, Be. Accessible Charitable Trust
- Chief Executive, Wellington NZ
- Board Member, Koi Tu, Centre for Informed Futures at Auckland University
- Member, Regional Skills
 Committee—Ministerial appointee (until June 2023)
- Director, Wellington Uni -Professional Ltd
- Director, Creative HQ
- Trustee, Victoria University of Wellington Foundation
- Chair, Barnardos New Zealand (August 2023)

Professor Richard Arnold

▶ Member, Tertiary Education Union

Jaistone Finau

- Chair/Member, Trusthouse Foundation Porirua Regional Advisory Committee
- ▶ Member, Trusthouse Foundation
- National President, Tauira Pasifika

Pania Gray (Ngāpuhi) (appointed January 2023)

- Managing Director, Kororā Consulting
- Deputy Chair, New Zealand Qualifications Authority
- Board Member, New Zealand Film Commission
- Board Member, Education Services Limited
- ► Independent Member, Te Mātāwai Audit & Risk Committee
- ▶ Independent Member, Ministry of Health Risk & Assurance Committee

Alan Judge

- Chair/Shareholder, Aquatx Holdings Ltd
- Shareholder, Biotelliga Holdings Ltd
- ► Chair, Habit Group Holdings Ltd
- Trustee, The Dame Malvina Major Foundation
- Trustee, Victoria University of Wellington Foundation
- ► Trustee, Maxwell Fernie Trust

David McLean

- ▶ Trustee, Bibi McLean Trustee Ltd
- Shareholder, Ian McLean Consultancy Services Ltd (until August 2023)
- Member, National Advisory Council on the Employment of Women
- Chair/Director, Kiwi Group Capital Ltd
- Chair, KiwiRail Holdings Ltd
- Chair, New Zealand Railways Corporation

Kelly Mitchell (Ngāti Māhanga) (appointed January 2023)

- Committee Member, Youth Movement Fund Aotearoa
- ▶ Member, Tertiary Education Union
- Member, Green Party of Aotearoa New Zealand

Cath Nesus (Ngāti Porou)

 Director/Shareholder, Nesus & Associates

Professor Nic Smith

(appointed January 2023)

- Adjunct Professor, Queensland University of Technology
- Visiting Professor, University of Auckland
- Trustee, Victoria University of Wellington Foundation Board (January 2023)
- Director, New Zealand School of Music Limited (January 2023)

Hon. Maryan Street

Director, KiwiRail Holdings Ltd

James Te Puni (Ngāti Porou)

- Chair, Barnados New Zealand
- Kaiwhakahaere Matua/CEO, Te Ahuru Mowai
- Director, Switched On Group
- Trustee, Waikanae Christian Holiday
 Park
- Director/Shareholder, Titahi Ltd

Professor Jennifer Windsor (until February 2023)

- Trustee, Adam Art Gallery Collection Funding Trust (until February 2023)
- Trustee, Adam Art Gallery Collection Trust (until February 2023)
- Acting Chair, Adam Art Gallery Advisory Board (until February 2023)
- Trustee, Victoria University of Wellington Foundation (until January 2023)

Nothing to disclose

Professor Brigitte Bönisch-Brednich