

TE HIWA 2023



Back row from left: Director, Human Resources Mark Daldorf, Provost Professor Bryony James, Vice-Chancellor Professor Nic Smith, Vice-Provost (Academic) Professor Stuart Brock, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Māori and Engagement) Professor Rawinia Higgins (Tūhoe).

Front row from left: Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Students) Doctor Logan Bannister, Director of the Office of the Vice-Chancellor Reece Moors, Te Hiwa Secretary Vicki Faint, Chief Operating Officer Tina Wakefield, Vice-Provost (Research) Professor Margaret Hyland, Chief Financial Officer Les Montgomery.

Disclosures—Te Hiwa 2023

Current Te Hiwa Members:

Professor Margaret Hyland

- Director, Victoria Link Ltd
- Director, Cirrus Materials Science Limited
- Director, NIWA
- ➤ Trustee, Karori Sanctuary Trust trading as Zealandia Te Māra a Tāne
- Advisory Member, Scion Crown Research Institute
- Chair, The Research Trust of Victoria University of Wellington

Mark Daldorf

- Director, The Rise 2008 Ltd
- ► Trustee, Jinju Family Trust
- Director, Edgewater Dive and Spa Resort
- Panel Member, EFMD EQUIS Accreditation Peer Review

Professor Nic Smith

(from January 2023)

- Director, New Zealand School of Music Limited (January 2023)
- Trustee, Victoria University of Wellington Foundation (January 2023)
- Council Member, Victoria University of Wellington

Professor Rawinia Higgins (Tūhoe)

- Member, Waitangi Tribunal
- Board member, Ngā Pae o te Māramatanga, Centre of Research Excellence
- Chair, Te Taura Whiri I te Reo (Māori Language Commission)
- ▶ Member, UN Global Taskforce
- Member, Te Hāpāi Ō—Māori Advisory Board for Te Kawa Mataaho— Public Service Commission
- ▶ Board Member, Reserve Bank

Professor Stuart Brock

➤ CEO/member Australasian Association of Philosophy Board

Reece Moors (July 2023)

- Director, Top 500 Club International Ltd
- Director/Shareholder, R M Consulting Ltd
- Shareholder, Malleus NZ Ltd
- Shareholder, Construction Solutions & Systems Ltd
- Shareholder, Ariki Spirits Ltd
- Board Advisor, SfTI National Science Challenge
- Iwi Member, Waikato Tainui Iwi Ngāti Mahuta, Ngāti Naho, Ngāti Maniapoto

Tina Wakefield (from September 2023)

 Reviewer, Gateway Reviewer for Treasury for NZ Government Projects

Nothing to disclose

Brendan Eckert (Acting CFO) (from December 2023)

Professor Bryony James (from October 2023)

Doctor Logan Bannister (from October 2023)

Past SLT Members:

Professor Jennifer Windsor (until January 2023)

- Director, New Zealand School of Music Ltd (until January 2023)
- ➤ Trustee, Victoria University of Wellington Foundation (until January 2023)
- ➤ Trustee, VUW Art Gallery Collection Trust (until February 2023)
- ➤ Trustee, VUW Art Gallery Collection Funding Trust (until February 2023)

Blair McRae (Kahungunu ki te Wairoa) (until May 2023)

- Committee Member, UNZ International Committee
- Chair, Victoria University Confucius Institute
- ► Trustee, Williamstown Trust
- Director, Wellington Uni-Professional Limited
- ➤ Trustee, VUW Art Gallery Collection Trust
- Trustee, VUW Art Collection Funding Trust
- Member, Centres of Asia-Pacific
 Excellence Management Committee
- Chair, Adam Art Gallery Advisory Boards
- Member, Universities New Zealand Policy Committee

Professor Ehsan Mesbahi

(until June 2023)

- Trustee, The Research Trust of Victoria University of Wellington
- Director, Victoria Link Ltd
- Board Member, MacDiarmid Institute Board
- Chair, Malaghan Medical Research Institute and VUW
- Board Member, Gracefield
 Development Governance Group

Les Montgomery

(until December 2023)

- Director, Te Puni Village Ltd
- Trustee, The Research Trust of Victoria University of Wellington
- Trustee, VUW School of Government Trust
- ▶ Trustee, Fale Malae Trust
- Director/Shareholder, Bessmount Investments Ltd
- Shareholder, Blackcurrent Holdings Limited (April 2023)

Professor Mark Hickford

(until July 2023)

- ▶ Panel Member, Borrin Foundation Grants and Scholarships Committee
- Board Member, Te Kura Kaiwhakawā—Institute of Judicial Studies
- Board Member, Australia
 New Zealand School of Government (ANZSOG)

Sarah Leggott (Acting PVC (HSSE)) (until July 2023)

- Advisory Board Member, Confucius Institute at VUW
- Advisory Board Member,
 New Zealand Contemporary
 China Research Centre

Simon Johnson (Acting COO) (until September 2023)

- Chair, Karori Normal School Board of Trustees
- Trustee, WN Presbyterian Methodist Hall of Residence Trust

Professor Wendy Larner

(until May 2023)

- Chair, Fulbright New Zealand
- Director, Wellington Uni-Professional Limited
- ➤ Co-Chair, TEC PBRF Sector Reference Group for the Quality Evaluation 2025
- Co-Moderator, TEC PBRF Quality Evaluation 2025



REMUNERATION OF EMPLOYEES

The number of employees whose income was within the specified bands are as follows:

REMUNERATION RANGE	2023	2022
\$100,000 - \$109,999	196	172
\$110,000 - \$119,999	159	143
\$120,000 - \$129,999	140	142
\$130,000 - \$139,999	130	113
\$140,000 - \$149,999	119	127
\$150,000 - \$159,999	77	55
\$160,000 - \$169,999	73	65
\$170,000 - \$179,999	49	52
\$180,000 - \$189,999	43	37
\$190,000 – \$199,999	27	23
\$200,000 - \$209,999	19	13
\$210,000 - \$219,999	9	12
\$220,000 - \$229,999	13	15
\$230,000 - \$239,999	20	7
\$240,000 - \$249,999	10	8
\$250,000 - \$259,999	2	3
\$260,000 - \$269,999	5	6
\$270,000 - \$279,999	2	6
\$280,000 - \$289,999	4	4
\$290,000 - \$299,999	3	2
\$300,000 - \$309,999	2	2
\$310,000 - \$319,999	4	1
\$320,000 - \$329,999	0	4
\$330,000 - \$339,999	3	2
\$340,000 - \$349,999	2	0
\$350,000 - \$359,999	1	1
\$360,000 - \$369,999	1	0
\$370,000 - \$379,999	2	0
\$380,000 - \$389,999	1	1
\$390,000 - \$399,999	2	1
\$420,000 - \$429,999	0	1
\$430,000 - \$439,999	0	1
\$460,000 - \$469,999	1	0
\$470,000 - \$479,999	0	1
\$570,000 - \$579,999	1	0